Support Amy's Marathon of Books

Shopping cart []

0 Items in Your cart
CCBC Events Announcement


read more

Dirty Science by Shar Levine and Leslie Johnstone wins Science in Society Book Award

Dirty Science (cover image)

Each year the Canadian Science Writers’ Association (CSWA) offers two book awards to honour outstanding contributions to science writing - one intended for and available to children/middle grades ages 8-12 years, and the other intended for and available to the general public for books that were published in Canada during the previous calendar year. This year the CSWA received a record number of entries in both categories. Entries were judged on the basis of initiative, originality, scientific accuracy, clarity of interpretation and value in promoting a better understanding of science by the public. The winners will be presented with their awards during the CSWA’s annual conference in Toronto at the awards banquet on June 7th. The winner in the children's category is Dirty Science: 25 Experiments with Soil by Shar Levine and Leslie Johnstone, illustrated by Lorenzo Del Bianco (Scholastic Canada).

read more

Kit Pearson is the recipient of the 11th annual Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence

Kit Pearson (head shot)

Kit Pearson was born in Edmonton, AB, in 1947 and grew up there and in Vancouver. She received her B.A. from the University of Alberta, her M.L.S. from the University of British Columbia, and her M.A. from the Simmons College Center for the Study of Children's Literature in Boston. She worked for ten years as a children's librarian in Ontario and BC, and is now a full-time writer living in Victoria. Her books have been published in Canada in English and French, in the US, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, the Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, China, and Korea. She has won many awards for her writing, including the Vicky Metcalf Award for her body of work in 1998.

read more

What the Moon Saw: Folk and Fairy Tales from Around the World

Toronto Public Library

This exhibit at the Osborne Collection, TPL’s world-renowned children's book collection, features a remarkable number of Canadian authored and illustrated work, reminding us of the impressive amount of folk and fairy tales published by Canadian authors over the years. (One case is devoted to Kids Can Press's multilingual folktale books from the early years of the company.) The show includes original art from noted children’s book illustrators, including by Brian Deines, Jirina Marton, Robin Muller, Vladyana Krykorka, Janie Jaehyun Park, Brenda Clark, Ian Wallace, C.J. Taylor and Mireille Levert.