• Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Facebook
header illustration

Explore the
Book Centre

What does it take to get a children’s book published? What are children’s book publishers looking for? How do booksellers pick the books they sell? Let our panel of experts show you what you need to do to get your manuscript published!

Support the CCBC by becoming a member.

Programmes et ressources du CLJC en français

Our database of historical fiction and non-fiction books for educators.

Find and book your favourite authors, illustrators & storytellers.

Back issues of our popular news and reviews magazine are online – for free!

Click here to download

The Canadian Children's Book Centre is an Amazon.ca Associate.


Blog Entry

August 26: National Dog Day

Today is National Dog Day. Founded in 2004 by Colleen Page, this day celebrates man's best friend and brings awareness about dog adoption and the importance of providing rescue dogs with a safe and loving environment. Below is a list of Canadian children's books that celebrate our little furry, four-legged friends.


Paul Kropp (1948-2015)

Paul Kropp (headshot)

It is with deep sadness that we announce the sudden passing of Paul Kropp on August 22, 2015. Born in Buffalo, New York in 1948, Paul studied at Columbia University before receiving his M.A. from the University of Western Ontario. Paul was an author, publisher (High Interest Publishing), teacher, and generous mentor to many Canadian writers. He also served as president of CANSCAIP and was active in the organization for many years.

Paul authored more than 60 books for young people including nine books for young adults, numerous books for reluctant readers and five illustrated books for beginning readers. In addition to his children's books, he also wrote books for adults, as well as professional development resources for teachers.


Finalists announced for the 2014 Lane Anderson Award

Lane Anderson Award

The administrators of the Lane Anderson Award announced the finalists of their book prize for the best Canadian science books written in 2014.

The esteemed award’s jury panels evaluated submissions in two categories – adult and young readers. They arrived at their shortlist after evaluating the relevance of each book’s content to the importance of science in today’s world, as well as the author’s ability to connect the topic to the interests of the general trade reader. Winners, who will each receive a $10,000 prize, will be announced at a dinner in Toronto in late September.