• Facebook
  • Facebook
  • Facebook
header illustration

Explore the
Book Centre

Support the CCBC by becoming a member.

Help Amy help the CCBC by donating to her Marathon of Books!

Our database of historical fiction and non-fiction books for educators.

Find and book your favourite authors, illustrators & storytellers.

Back issues of our popular news and reviews magazine are online – for free!

Click here to download

Newsletter sign-up!

Sign up to get our monthly newsletter for educators and librarians, featuring book lists, activities, special discounts, and more!

If you love children’s books, you’ve come to the right place!

The Canadian Children's Book Centre (CCBC) is a national, not-for-profit organization, founded in 1976. We are dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers. With book collections and extensive resources in five cities across Canada, the CCBC is a treasure-trove for anyone interested in Canadian books for young readers. Our programs, publications, and resources help teachers, librarians, booksellers and parents select the very best for young readers.

Recent News

Blog Entry

Anniversary of the Salk Vaccine

bookhead red.jpg

It was 62 years ago today - March 26, 1953 - that Dr. Jonas Salk, an American medical researcher and virologist, announced on national radio that he had successfully tested a vaccine that could prevent polio, a crippling disease that attacks the central nervous system, and can result in paralysis. The vaccine became known as the Salk vaccine. A number of Canadian children's books featuring characters with polio have been published over the years. Commemorate this anniversary in your classroom or library with Canadian children's books.


Call for Submissions: IBBY Canada’s Joanne Fitzgerald Illustrator in Residence Program

IBBY Canada new

IBBY Canada invites submissions from Canadian children’s book illustrators for the 2015 Joanne Fitzgerald Illustrator in Residence Program. The program provides a jury-selected illustrator with a month-long residency, hosted by the Toronto Public Library. Submissions will be evaluated by a jury of experts in children’s books and illustration. The submission deadline is Thursday, April 30, 2015.


Erin Spring receives IBBY Canada’s Russell Grant

IBBY Canada new

IBBY Canada (the Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People) has announced that the Frances E. Russell Grant recipient is Erin Spring, from the Institute of Child and Youth Studies at the University of Lethbridge, Alberta.


Write and Publish Children's Books: Summer Workshop in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Humber College and Holland College are teaming up to offer "The Insider’s Guide to Writing and Publishing for Young Readers," a two-day workshop for writers of children’s literature of all ages.

The workshop will take place in Charlottetown, P.E.I. on July 10 and 11, 2015, and will be led Cynthia Good and Rick Wilks, two of the most experienced professionals in the business. For more information, please visit www.hollandcollege.com/write.


2015 BC Book Prizes finalists announced

BC Book Prizes

The West Coast Book Prize Society announced the finalists for the 2015 BC Book Prizes on March 11, 2015. Winners will be announced on Saturday, April 25, 2015 at the Pinnacle Vancouver Harbourfront Hotel. Below are the nominees for the Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize and the Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize. For the full shortlist, click here.